What is Senate?

  1. Senate provides a voice to graduates, the community at large and key stakeholders in university affairs.
  2. Senate is part of the tricameral governance structure at USask. The Board of Governors and University Council are the other governing bodies.
  3. The Senate is composed of 116 members, which include:
    • the present and former Chancellors
    • the president and vice-presidents of the university
    • the Minister of Advanced Education and the deputy minister
    • principals of federated and affiliated colleges, deans or acting deans of colleges, and such other deans of academic and student affairs and such directors as nominated by the president and approved by the Senate
    • 14 electoral district members
    • 14 members-at-large
    • six undergraduate students and one graduate student
    • representatives of professional societies, groups or organizations in the province which in the opinion of the Senate contribute in a significant way to the social, economic and cultural welfare of the Province and have a demonstrated interest in furthering the goals of higher education and research at the university

What are the responsibilities of the Senate?

The senate is the university’s window on the province and the province’s window on the university. Under The University of Saskatchewan Act, 1995, Senate is responsible for:

  1. Approving admission requirements and quotas (on the recommendation of council);
  2. Recommendations regarding the establishment or disestablishment of any college, school, or department;
  3. Appointing examiners for and making bylaws respecting the conduct of examinations for professional societies;
  4. The granting of honorary degrees; and
  5. Non-academic student discipline

What does Senate participation include?

  1. Senate members attend two meetings per year – one in the spring, another in the fall. All meetings are held at the USask campus or nearby in Saskatoon. Senators will make their own travel arrangements to attend meetings. The Office of the University Secretary covers travel expenses for the elected members of Senate up to approved limits.
  2. Some Senate members also serve on various committees including:
    • Education committee
    • Executive committee
    • Honourary degree committee
    • Membership committee
    • Nominations committee
    • Senate hearing board for non-academic student discipline and appeals

For more information on the Senate, please go to: