U of S Alumni Receive Awards

Seven University of Saskatchewan alumni will be honoured with Alumni Achievement Awards at a reception October 28.
Award recipients for 2011 are:
B. E. (Bev) Allen (BSP'73) for his teaching, professional and volunteer service to the pharmacy profession.
Tony Dagnone (BComm'65) for his business contributions to Canadian health care and volunteer leadership.
L. David Dubé (BA'84) for his volunteer and philanthropic support of the U of S and Huskie Athletics.
Rui Feng (PhD'92) for entrepreneurial success in the mining and exploration industry.
Edward Hudek (BSA'40) for his contributions to the agriculture sector.
Ken Linnen (BE'72) for his leadership and mentorship in the Saskatchewan housing industry and his community.
Terrence Veeman (BSA'62) for his teaching and leadership in agriculture, forestry and food sustainability.
Jason Aebig (BA'99), president of the University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association says, "These alumni, and their significant accomplishments, have added important chapters to the story of our great university. In different spheres, and in different ways, each one of these recipients has demonstrated excellence, leadership and distinguished service. We are proud to honour and recognize these accomplished alumni and hope that their success inspires current students to pursue their own goals and dreams."
The Alumni Achievement Awards recognize graduates of the University of Saskatchewan for excellence, leadership, and innovation in their achievements and contributions to the social, cultural, and economic well-being of society, which positively reflect on the University of Saskatchewan and the Alumni Association.
The format of the awards has changed this year, consolidating seven previous award categories into one Alumni Achievement Award that can be given to up to twelve nominated candidates. The new format will better recognize the diversity of alumni success and the variety of ways they better their communities.
A video of the awards presentation will be posted online soon after the event for those unable to attend. You can join conversation during the event through Twitter (#usaskalumni) or on the Alumni Association's Facebook page.
Pictured above: Jason Aebig (left) and U of S President Peter MacKinnon (right) present a certificate to Rui Feng at a gift celebration Oct. 12. Photo by David Stobbe
Share this story