U of S Alumni to be Honoured

Their collective list of accomplishments is as long and varied as it is impressive—including patents to mechanically neutralize land mines, leading-edge cardiovascular research and treatment, advising on international trade agreements and co-founding an up-and-coming commercial development company, to name just a few.

The tie that binds these achievements is they are all performed by University of Saskatchewan alumni. More specifically, the 12 recipients of the University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association's 2012 Alumni Achievement Awards.

The annual awards recognize graduates of the University of Saskatchewan for excellence, leadership, and innovation in their achievements and contributions to the social, cultural, and economic well-being of society, which positively reflect on the University of Saskatchewan and the Alumni Association.

"We have about 138,000 graduates, so it's really no wonder that we have such accomplished individuals we can honour and celebrate," says Judy MacMillan, president of the U of S Alumni Association.

"The broad range of expertise and the many varied contributions this year's recipients make in their respective professions, to their communities, to U of S and to society-at-large is really quite impressive," continues MacMillan. "It really illustrates the quality and the breadth and depth of educational programs we have available at the U of S. They are a testament to the notion that a university education—a U of S education—is a solid foundation for success, and we are proud to have them as ambassadors of our fine institution."

The annual Honouring our Alumni reception will be held November 2 at the Delta Bessborough Hotel in Saskatoon to celebrate award recipients.

This year's recipients are (view biographies and photos):

  • Austin Beggs (BA'74) for his role in helping grow innovation and research in Saskatoon and throughout Saskatchewan.
  • Dr. Sasha Bernatsky (BSc'88) for her contributions to internal medicine in the fields of rheumatology, epidemiology and research focused on improving the outcomes for persons with systematic lupus (SLE).
  • Dr. Anne Doig (MD'76) for her leadership and commitment to family medicine and the medical profession.
  • Elaine Golds (BA'64) for her life-long commitment to volunteerism and environmental sustainability.
  • Digvir Jayas, FRSC (PhD'87) for his research and significant contributions to the agricultural industry.
  • Professor Emeritus Radhey Lal Kushwaha (PhD'67) for his service to the engineering profession—nationally and internationally.
  • Robert (Bob) McKercher, QC (BA'50, LLB'52) for his contributions to and the advancement of the law profession in Canada.
  • Dr. Bruce McManus, FRSC, FCAHS (BAPE'67, MD'77) for his contributions to cardiovascular research and treatment.
  • Chancellor Emeritus Edward (Ted) Turner, CM, SOM (D/Agric'48, LLD (honorary)'89) for his leadership in agriculture and service to the University of Saskatchewan.
  • Garrett Wilson, QC (BA'53, LLB'54) for his contributions to law, business, politics and literature.

The Young Alumni Achievement Award recipients are:

  • Natasha Haskey (BSNT'98, MSc'07) for her work improving the nutritional well-being of children.
  • Karl Miller (BA'98, BComm'01) for his contributions as an entrepreneur and businessman.

Also being recognized at this year's reception are three honorary alumni. Wendy Field (nee Bates) worked in the Alumni Relations Office at the U of S for over 30 years before retiring earlier this year. William (Bill) Albritton, former dean of the College of Medicine, and his wife, Betty, were nominated by the college and the college's alumni association.
Alumni Achievement Award recipients are nominated by fellow U of S alumni and chosen by a volunteer committee.


Nominations are open year round. The deadline for next year's awards is June 30, 2013.
Read more about the alumni awards, recipients, the reception and the nomination process.

Share this story