Les and Irene Dubé. Photo: Terri Feltham Photography.
Les and Irene Dubé. Photo: Terri Feltham Photography.

USask alumni and community members honoured with 2021 YWCA Women of Distinction Awards

In recognition for her entrepreneurial spirit, community service and philanthropy, Dr. Irene Dubé (Hon. LLD’07) has been honoured with the 2021 Women of Distinction Lifetime Achievement Award.

On Friday, May 14th, the YWCA Saskatoon held their 39th annual Women of Distinction Awards. Among those honoured was Dr. Irene Dubé (Hon. LLD’07), who was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Several other notable members of the USask community were honoured during the ceremonies:

  • Community Building Award
    • Zeba T. Ahmad (BSc’87, BSP’89; former staff/faculty)
  • Education Award
    • Pamela Goulden-McLeod (BA’95)
  • Entrepreneurship Award
    • Maureen Haddock (BEd’70)
  • 29 and Under Award
    • Kelsey Murphy (BComm’19; former staff/faculty) 
  • Business and Professions Award
    • Debra Shewfelt (MSc’05)
  • Research and Technology Award
    • Samia Sami (current student)
  • Arts, Culture and Heritage Award
    • Jackie Latendresse (former staff/faculty)

The YWCA Women of Distinction Awards are recognized nationally as one of the most prestigious awards for women. Since 1982, Saskatoon’s Women of Distinction Awards have honoured hundreds of women for their leadership and contributions to the Saskatoon community.

Share this story