Les and Irene Dubé. Photo: Terri Feltham Photography.
Les and Irene Dubé. Photo: Terri Feltham Photography.

USask alumni and community members nominated for the 2021 YWCA Women of Distinction

Twenty-one University of Saskatchewan community members are among those recognized by the Saskatoon YWCA with the annual Women of Distinction Awards nominations.

The YWCA Women of Distinction Awards are recognized nationally as one of the most prestigious awards for women. Since 1982, Saskatoon’s Women of Distinction Awards have honoured hundreds of women for their leadership and contributions to the Saskatoon community.

Among those being honoured in 2021 is Dr. Irene Dubé (Hon. LLD’07), who will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Through her entrepreneurial spirit, community service and philanthropy, Wynyard-born Dr. Dubé has set an inspiring example for business and charitable leadership in the Saskatoon community. Along with her husband, Les Dubé, she made her first private sector investment in 1961 when they purchased a piece of land in Saskatoon. In 1969, they opened an office to manage their growing company. Starting with only three original employees, the Concorde Group of Companies has grown into a diverse company with extensive holdings.

Dr. Dubé’s philanthropic impact within the City of Saskatoon is vastly significant and deeply meaningful. She has  generously given to several organizations over the course of her lifetime including the Jim Pattison Children’s Hospital, the Dubé Lighthouse, the Saskatoon Community Foundation, the Irene and Leslie Dubé Centre for Mental Health and the University of Saskatchewan, including milestone contributions to campus projects like USask’s Health Sciences Project, the Les and Irene Dubé Good Samaritan Fund at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine (WCVM), and the Les and Irene Dubé Command Centre in the College of Medicine.

Among her many accolades, Dr. Dubé was recognized during the City of Saskatoons Centennial as one of 100 Who Made a Difference and was inducted into the Saskatoon Achievement in Business Excellence Hall of Fame. In 2007, she received an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of Saskatchewan. In 2008 she received the Saskatchewan Order of Merit - Saskatchewan’s highest honour. In 2017 she was appointed as a Member (C.M.) of the Order of Canada.

Congratulations Dr. Dubé for this well-deserved achievement!

Other notable USask alumni, students, staff and faculty nominees include:

  • Community Building Award
    • Debra Pozega Osburn (PhD), VP University Relations
    • Heather Sully (BComm’00)
    • Zeba T. Ahmad (BSc’87, BSP’89; former staff/faculty)
  • Education Award
    • Charlene Neumeyer (BEd’89, MEd’09, TESL’16)
    • Pamela Goulden-McLeod (BA’95)
    • Tammy Krueckl (BEd’03) 
  • Entrepreneurship Award
    • Maureen Haddock (BEd’70)
  • Health and Athletics Award
    • Alana Holt (BSN’95, MD’00) assistant professor, psychiatry 
  • 29 and Under Award
    • Morgan Kalk (BComm’20; current staff/faculty)
    • Aubrey-Anne L. Laliberte-Pewapisconias (current student)
    • Kelsey Murphy (BComm’19; former staff/faculty) 
  • Business and Professions Award
    • Heather Persson, director research and impact
    • Debra Shewfelt (MSc’05)
    • Carrie Verishagen (BSNT’08) coordinator of the Eat Well Saskatchewan call centre
  • Research and Technology Award
    • McKenzie Hunter (BComm’15)
    • Samia Sami (current student)
    • Joyce Wilson, professor, biochemistry, microbiology and immunology
  • Arts, Culture and Heritage Award
    • Jackie Latendresse (former staff/faculty)
    • Kate Matthews (BComm’06) 
  • Loretta’s Award
    • Tannis E. Nicholson (BusAdm’06) 

The virtual awards ceremony will take place May 14, 2021.

Share this story